New Order, Die Antwoord, James Murphy, The 2 Bears, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Untold, Daniel Miller, DJ Harvey and Daedelus are among the many new additions to Sónar 2012 Barcelona.

New Order, one of the most influential British bands in the history of music, will be headlining Sónar by Night on Saturday 16 June. New Order is undoubtedly one of the key names in the history of music and one of the most influential bands of recent decades. The Manchester outfit pioneered the use and assimilation of the language of electronic dance music in a pop context after the end of Joy Division, and succeeded in creating a style all their own. Innovative and highly respected by the critics, as well as being massively successful, New Order have been responsible for an extensive catalogue of hits as timeless as “Blue Monday”, “Bizarre Love Triangle”, “True Faith”, “The Perfect Kiss,” “Regret” and “Fine Time,” among many others.

South Africa’s Die Antwoord has been also added to Sonar 2012, returning to the festival after their triumphant concert last year to present the excellent new “Ten$ion”. Other additions include the wisdom of James Murphy (LCD Soundsystem) on the decks on Friday the 15th at Sonar by Night; danceable electronica with a pop sensitivity from Britain’s Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs; The 2 Bears, the new house project by Joe Goddard (Hot Chip) and Raf Lundell; the highly respected dj Untold, a mainstay of British bass music; the session by Daniel Miller, the founder of Mute and a living legend of new wave; the up and coming Barcelona kraut-pop duo Pegasvs; and the colourful show of mirrors by the American beatmaker Daedelus.

Besides those mentioned above, the festival will also feature Cornelius presenting the band salyu x salyu, the Brazilian experimentalist Ricardo Donoso, the Canadian remixers Keys N Krates, unusual musical-scientific ideas from Japan’s Masaki Batoh, the mysterious 5-piece band performing under the Mostly Robot monicker (in a show conceived by Native Instruments), and some of the most interesting outfits currently working in Spain, such as Lenticular Clouds, Lolo & Sosaku, D.Forma and Esperit!, among many others.

Red Bull Music Academy comes back to the SonarDôme stage with another stellar selection of Academy affiliates, introducing fresh new sounds from around the globe. Performers on the programme include the legend that is Dj Harvey, Chicago footwork pioneers Dj Spinn and Dj Rashad, as well as recent Academy graduates Nguzunguzu, Canblaster, Barcelona’s own Nehuen, future R&B crooner Jesse Boykins III and Doc Daneeka, among many others. More artists will be announced soon.

SonarPro is the Sónar platform where you can watch, experience and find out about the major new developments in the field of technology applied to art. At Sónar 2012 in Barcelona, SonarPro assumes a new dimension and expands its activities to other areas of the festival. Among the contents of this latest version of SonarPro are the second Music Hack Day, the talk with the director of the new film by The Chemical Brothers, and the Meet the Expert activity, with main speakers such as international programmers of music festivals. You can also follow Sonarpro in Twitter @SonarPro2012

All Sónar 2012 tickets are now on sale: Sónar Passes, 2-Night Tickets, individual tickets for Sonar by Day and Sónar by Night and SonarPro Professional Accreditations. Also remember that on Saturday March 31 sees the end of the offer to purchase the 3-Day Sónar Pass in two easy installments.

All the information on Sónar 2012 is available at and on the official pages of Facebook (Sonar Festival Official Page, Sonar Festival Página Oficial en Español) and Twitter (@sonarfestival #sonar2012).

Sónar 2012 Barcelona: Latest additions

New Order (UK)
Die Antwoord (ZA)
James Murphy (US)
Daedelus Archimedes Show (US)
Cornelius presents salyu x salyu (JP)
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs (UK)
The 2 Bears (UK)
Daniel Miller (UK)
Pegasvs (ES)
Pretty Lights (US)
Lolo & Sosaku (ES)
Ricardo Donoso (BR)
Masaki Batoh – Brain Pulse Music (JP)
Mostly Robot (DE)
Keys N Krates (CA)
Madeon (FR)
Esperit! (ES)
Discodromo (IT)
D.Forma (ES)
Lenticular Clouds (ES)
Stand Up Against Heart Crime (ES)
Untold (UK)
Sinjin Hawke Vs. Zora Jones (ES)

Red Bull Music Academy presents SonarDôme
DJ Harvey (US)
DJ Spinn & DJ Rashad (US)
Nguzunguzu (US)
Club Cheval feat. Canblaster, Myd, Panteros 666 & Sam Tiba (FR)
Doc Daneeka (UK)
xxxy (UK)
Jesse Boykins III (US)
Om Unit (UK)
Nehuen (ES)
Andrea Balency (MX)
Salva (US)
Raisa K (UK)
Nightwave (UK)
Yosi Horikawa (JP)
Santiago Latorre (ES)
Sizarr (DE)
Exeter (CA)
Clip! (ES)
Eltron John (PL)
Monki Valley (ES)

Sonar São Paulo Line-up

Björk (IS)
Cee-Lo Green (US)
Justice (FR)
Chromeo (CA)
Mogwai (UK)
James Blake (UK)
Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto (DE – JP)
Squarepusher (Uk)
Modeselektor (De)
Jeff Mills (US)
Gui Boratto (BR)
Skream feat. Sgt Pokes (UK)
Four Tet (UK)
Little Dragon (SE)
Hudson Mohawke (UK)
Dj Marky Vs Dj Patife (BR)
Seth Troxler (US)
Criolo (BR)
Emicida (BR)
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs (UK)
Muti Randolph & Clara Sverner (BR)
Austra (CA)
John Talabot (ES)
Munchi (NL)
Super Guachin (AR)
Za! (ES)
The Twelves (BR)
Ricardo Donoso (BR)
Bruno Belluomini (BR)
Nedu Lopes (BR)
M Takara X Akin (BR)
Psilosamples (BR)
Gang Do Eletro (BR)
Silva (BR)
Dago (BR)
Tahira (BR)
Thomash (BR)

Red Bull Music Academy Presents
Flying Lotus (US)
James Holden (UK)
Rustie (UK)
Cut Chemist (US)
Tiger & Woods (EU)
James Pants (US)
Mauricio Fleury (BR)
Zegon (BR)
Pazes (BR)

SonarSound Tokyo Line-up

Squarepusher (UK)
Clark (UK)
Ken Ishii presents Metropolitan Harmonic Formulas (JP)
The Cinematic Orchestra (UK)
Vincent Gallo (US)
Mount Kimbie (UK)
Rustie (UK)
Anchor Song (JP)
Ukawanimation presents XXX Residents (JP)
Ryoichi Kurokawa (JP)
Dorian Concept (AUT)
Kyoka (JP)
Ao Inoue (JP)
Mergrim (JP)
Seiho + Avec Avec (JP)
Jealousguy (JP)
Keiichiro Shibuya + Takashi Ikegami (JP)
Masaki Batoh (JP)
Bun / Fumitake Tamura × takcom (JP)
Dub-Russell x Vokoi (JP)
Oorutaichi (JP)
Nightwave (UK)
Broken Haze (JP)
Typingmonckeys (JP)
Fugenn & The White Elephants (JP)

Red Bull Music Academy presents SonarDôme
Global Communication (UK)
Hudson Mohawke (UK)
Culoe De Song (ZA)
Teebs (US)
Jesse Boykins III (US)
Daisuke Tanabe (JP)
Yosi Horikawa (JP)
Kez YM (JP)
sauce81 (JP)
Akiko Kiyama (JP)
Hiroaki Oba (JP)

Première screening
Amon Tobin “ISAM Live”
“The Unspeakable Chilly Gonzales Live With Orchestra”

Party (Shinji Kawamura × Kanta Shimizu)